Dia de Los Muertos ’08

Someday Lounge Poster

Someday Lounge Poster

Well, last year’s Day of the Dead party was huge fun and my friends at the Someday Lounge in Portland Oregon agree!  We’re planning to do it all over again this year, with a free skull decorating workshop, a community altar build and procession through Old Town and the Park block areas.  We’re planning on starting the party at around 3pm.  Making the skulls is my favorite part of the day, something the kids really get into, especially with the glitter and icing.  We’ll have mexican hot choclate, face painting and watch short films too.  Many people came dressed up last year and we had a number of folks marching on stilts… Last year the alter was fairly small, but this year we’re sending out invitations to artists and crafters to participate, bringing mememntos of loved ones or other ephemeria to celebrate the holiday.

About Shawn

Shawn Bowman teaches kids film production at the Pacific College of Northwest Arts in Portland Oregon and consults on hybrid web/arts/events projects Bowman is co-founder of Indiekid Films, folks who believe everyone around the world, regardless of age should see and create great movies.

Posted on October 11, 2008, in Super Crafty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am guest writing a post at Foodieview.com and was wondering if I could use a picture from last year’s sugar skull post to illustrate it? I am including a link to your tutorial. If this is okay, please email me at coconutlimeblog@gmail.com thanks!

  2. I like this blob much. nothing is more cool than crafting. It is nice to let others know that Portland is not just lefties, hippies,and strip clubs! It is crafting 2 G…. I can tell by the the fact that u and me are part of the crafting community that you will be voting John McCain and as a feminist we all LOVE Ms Palin. She will protect us all from evildoers and especially the most evil Obama 😦 I can tell he hates crafting and you and me. Pleas write me soon and often. We can craft cool stuff. I miss Mr.bush all ready .A great man. I know that U know:)
    your friend blanketthe2nd
    God
    family
    crafting

  3. Hello, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing facts, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.

  4. I pay a visit every day a few blogs and sites to
    read posts, but this webpage offers quality based articles.

Leave a Reply

