The Yolk’s on You

96 ears and 96 eyesThere was a plan- to make those super cute sugar egg dioramas like the ones my mom would give to me every Easter.  I’m still a novice with royal icing, I can make it, but the fancy decor is a bit beyond my skill set.  I decided to take some short cuts and go with the glue gun/rickrack double combo.  We’d done a dry run at craft night on Thursday and my friends had all walked away with lovely treats.  My first step was to paint the inside of the hollow sugar eggs with glitter glue, forgetting how wet some glues can be.  Lucy’s egg held up well, but the glue completely disintegrated the roof of Xander’s egg and it imploded on itself.  Fortunately the boy had asked for something spooky and really is there anything more creepy than a fly emerging from a giant egg, a gutted skeleton perched in it’s mandibles… I’d say the whole thing was a learning moment, and once again a crafting accident has turned into a gift home run, needless to say, my son is delighted though he is seriously questioning the Easter Bunny’s judgement.

About Shawn

Shawn Bowman teaches kids film production at the Pacific College of Northwest Arts in Portland Oregon and consults on hybrid web/arts/events projects Bowman is co-founder of Indiekid Films, folks who believe everyone around the world, regardless of age should see and create great movies.

Posted on April 12, 2009, in The kids are all right and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My, but aren’t you Miss Crafty-Pants! I preferred your eggs to the royal icing ones by far. The Victorians can have their foofy beribboned eggs; creepy fly-bearing eggs with jaws kick butt!

Leave a Reply

